Food Culture

Programmes in January - March 2024

 

Programme Name

Date

Time

Venue

Speaker/ Instructor

Visit of Melon Seed Making Workshop

7 January 2024 (Sunday)

10:00 am – 11:00 am |11:00 am - 12:00 nn

The King of Melon Seeds Factory (Wah Wai Industrial Building, Tsuen Wan)

Ms Cheng Yan

Workshop on Pineapple Bun Making

13 January 2024 (Saturday) | 14 January 2024 (Sunday)

10:30 am – 1:30 pm

Hong Kong Intangible Cultural Heritage Centre (located at Sam Tung Uk Museum)

Mr Man Fuk-on

Workshop on Egg Tart Making

3:00 – 5:30 pm

Mr Man Fuk-on

Talk and Demonstration of Blown Sugar Technique

3 February 2024 (Saturday)

1:30 – 3:00 pm | 3:30 – 5:00 pm

Ms Chung Choi-wan

Demonstration on Hong Kong-style Milk Tea Making Technique (Hybrid Format)

2 March 2024 (Saturday)

11:00 am – 1:00 pm

Mr Tse Chung-tak, Donald

Demonstration on Yuan Yang Mixed Milk Tea and Coffee Making Technique (Hybrid Format)

2 March 2024 (Saturday)

3:00 – 5:00 pm

Mr Tse Chung-tak, Donald

Demonstration on Cha Kwo (Steamed Sticky Rice Dumpling) Making Technique

3 March 2024 (Sunday)

11:00 am – 1:00 pm | 3:00 – 5:00 pm

Mr Chan Ka-kit

Demonstration on Chiu Chow Style Sweets and Cakes Making Technique

17 March 2024 (Sunday)

11:00 am – 1:00 pm | 3:00 – 5:00 pm

Dr Rocky Yeung

Demonstration on Dragon's Beard Candy Making Technique

24 March 2024 (Sunday)

1:00 – 2:30 pm | 3:30 – 5:00 pm

JOL Cacao Instructor

 

 

Special Programmes for CNY

Programmes in February 2024

 

Programme Name

Date

Time

Venue

Speaker/ Instructor

Dragon Dance Performance

17 February 2024 (Saturday)

2:30 - 4:30 pm

Hong Kong Intangible Cultural Heritage Centre (located at Sam Tung Uk Museum)

Bao Zi Lin So Chi Kwong Chinese Martial Arts Dragon and Lion Dance Association

Talk on Lantern Riddles

24 February 2024 (Saturday)

2:30 - 4:30 pm

Mr Andrew Pak

 

 

Good Show in Sam Tung Uk

Programmes in April - June 2024

 

Programme Name

Date

Time

Venue

Speaker/ Instructor

Talk and Performance of Cantonese Music

7 April 2024 (Sunday)

2:00 – 3:30 pm | 4:00 – 5:30 pm

Hong Kong Intangible Cultural Heritage Centre (located at Sam Tung Uk Museum)

Speaker: Ms Jessica Fung

Performer: Mr Keith Yeung

(TroVessional)

Talk and Demonstration of Cantonese Opera Music

14 April 2024 (Sunday)

1:00 – 2:30 pm | 3:30 – 5:00 pm

Mr Ko Yun-hung

Demonstration of Puppetry

27 April 2024 (Saturday)

1:00 – 2:30 pm | 3:30 – 5:00 pm

Mr Wong Fai

"Hakka Folk Song Heard Everywhere" Performance

5 May 2024 (Sunday)

1:00 – 2:30 pm | 3:00 – 4:30 pm

Sai Kung Hakka Folk Song Group

"Rhythmical Clapper, Music and Nanyin (Southern Tunes)" Performance

11 May 2024 (Saturday)

11:00 am – 1:00 pm | 2:30 – 4:30 pm

Ms Tong Siu-yin

Miraculous Hands for Guqin and Music: Talk on Seven-stringed Plucked Instrument Making Technique

18 May 2024 (Saturday)

11:00 am - 1:00 pm | 2:30 - 4:30 pm

Choi Chang Sau Qin Making Society

Melodious Rhythm of Tao: Talk of Taoist Ritual Music (Zhengyi)

1 June 2024 (Saturday)

1:30 – 3:00 pm | 3:30 – 5:00 pm

Mr Ko Yun-Kuen

Chiu Chow Music Zone: Talk and Demonstration of Chiu Chow Music

16 June 2024 (Sunday)

11:00 am – 1:00 pm | 2:30 – 4:30 pm

Mr Chow Ying-ho,

Ms Lam Suet-wan

"Indian Dance of Hindu Festivals" Talk and Demonstration

29 June 2024 (Saturday)

11:00 am – 1:30 pm | 3:00 – 5:30 pm

BEYOND Bollywood

"Let's Perform Fujian Opera" Talk and Performance

30 June 2024 (Sunday)

1:30 – 3:00 pm | 3:30 – 5:00 pm

Hong Kong Fujian Fuzhou Min Opera Troupe